Important Dates
  • New Abstract submission
    December 23, 2010
  • New Paper submission
    January 3, 2011
  • Acceptance Notification
    February 10, 2011
  • Camera Ready Due
    April 26, 2011
  • Workshop
    13 May 2011

Important Dates
  • New Deadline for contacting organizers
    December 23, 2010
  • Paper submission
    January 10, 2011
  • Acceptance Notification
    February 10, 2011
  • Camera Ready Due
    April 26, 2011
  • Workshop
    13 May 2011


13 May 2011
Valencia, Spain

The Workshop on Sustainable Networking SUNSET 2011 is the 1st workshop on sustainable, green networking collocated with the Networking conference and sponsored by the IFIP Technical Committee on Communication Systems (TC6). The main objective of SUNSET 2011 is to bring together experts in the area of sustainable networking from both academia and industry. The workshop addresses issues with a high potential of energy savings in wireless and wired access for local and core networks.

We invite original, previously unpublished papers and research contributions in the area of energy efficient networks. The accepted papers will appear in the workshop proceedings, published by Springer-Verlag, in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Specific topics of interests include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Energy-efficient broadband access networks
  • Sustainable wireless communication
  • Energy-efficient network management
  • Energy-efficient data center communication
  • Energy-efficient network components (routers, switches, etc.)
  • Network virtualization for reducing power consumption
  • Monitoring concepts for energy-efficient network management
  • Energy-efficient end-to-end networking
  • Green network planning and design
  • Energy efficient network hardware improvements
  • Energy-efficient communication protocols
  • Techniques for measuring and estimating power consumption in networks
  • Economic aspects and models of energy efficiency in networks

Organising Committee

Workshop Chairs

  • Laurent Lefevre, (, INRIA, University of Lyon, France
  • Rastin Pries, (, University of Wuerzburg, Germany

Technical Program Committee (to be completed)

  • Sasitharan Balasubramaniam, TSSG Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland
  • Torsten Braun, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Hermann de Meer, University of Passau, Germany
  • Lars Dittmann, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Markus Fiedler, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Alfonso Gazo-Cervero, University of Extremadura, Spain
  • Helmut Hlavacs, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Karin Hummel, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Dan Kilper, Bell Laboratories, USA
  • Akihiro Nakao, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Huu Thanh Nguyen, Hanoi University of Technology, Vietnam
  • Anne-Cecile Orgerie, Université de Lyon, France
  • Kostas Pentikousis, Huawei Technologies, Germany
  • Chris Phillips, Queen Mary University of London, England
  • Tuan Anh Trinh, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary
  • Rod Tucker, University of Melbourne, Australia

Workshop Paper Submission

Authors are invited to submit full papers for the workshop via the EDAS Conference Management System. Only original papers describing previously unpublished, not currently under review by another conference or jounal, addressing state-of-the-art research and development must be submitted.

For more instructions to submit your paper, please follow this link